Musée de la maison Keillor et Société historique Westmorland

(English) Exterior of the Keillor House

Remontez à 1813, à un majestueux manoir en pierre style Regency, la maison Keillor dans le village historique de Dorchester. Elle est nommée d’après son bâtisseur, John Keillor, un maçon de pierre, le fils d’un immigrant de Yorkshire. Des guides habillés de la période sauront vous séduire par des histoires de la maison, de la famille Keillor, et de la vie dans le village au 19e siècle. Chaque visite promet une aventure unique, vous pouvez visualiser de belles antiquités et de la porcelaine, échantillonner des biscuits sortant du four à pâtisserie ou écouter une boîte à musique à cylindre ancien.

L’architecture est du style classique Regency. Meublée comme elle aurait été aux milieux et fins du 19e siècle; la majorité de la construction est originale, plâtre avec cheveux, tour, menuiserie élaborée, neuf cheminées d’origine. Un escalier en colimaçon de trois étages vous emmènera à la chambre au grenier où les travailleurs agricoles dormaient.

La remise (« Coach House »), située derrière la maison Keillor, contient des chariots, des outils domestiques et de ferme des années 1800 ainsi que la collection du pénitencier de Dorchester – “100 ans de Crime et de Châtiment” avec l’art effectué en prison, les armes et les entraves.

Consultez le site du musée pour plus de détails sur : thé à la mode historique et discussions, Foire d’artisanat du patrimoine, Petit déjeuner du Festival des bécasseaux, maison hantée et diners de Noël victoriens.

4974 Main Street, Dorchester, NB, E4L 2Z1

506-379-6633
« Previous
Next »
Copyright 2013
A Ginger Design

Keillor House Museum

Exterior of the Keillor House

Journey back to 1813, to a majestic Regency stone mansion, Keillor House in the historic village of Dorchester. It is named after its builder John Keillor a stonemason, the son of a Yorkshire immigrants. Period dressed guides will delight you with stories about the house, the Keillor Family, and 19th century life in the village. Every tour promises a unique adventure, whether you prefer viewing fine antiques and china, sampling biscuits fresh from the bake oven or listening to the antique cylinder music box.

Architecture is classic Regency. It is furnished as it would have been during the middle-to-late 19th century. Most of the original construction remains; hair plaster, split lathe, elaborate mill work, nine original fireplaces. A spiral three –storey staircase takes you to the attic bedroom where the farm hand slept.

The Coach House, located behind Keillor House, contains carriages, domestic and farm implements from the 1800’s as well as the Dorchester Penitentiary Collection ‘100 years of Crime and Punishment” with prison art, weapons and shackles.

We are celebrating our 200 Anniversary with many events and a special season exhibit.

Check the museum website for details on the a series of Historical Fashion Tea & Talks, Heritage Craft Fair, Sandpiper Festival Breakfast, Haunted House Tour and Victorian Christmas Dinners.

Notes: Open mid-June to mid-September
Charged admission

Twitter @Keillorhouse
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Closed/Fermé 10 - 5 10 - 5 10 - 5 10 - 5 10 - 5 12 - 5

4974 Main Street, Dorchester, NB, E4L 2Z1

(506)379-6633
« Previous
Next »
Copyright 2013
A Ginger Design