New Brunswick Internment Camp Museum

New Brunswick Internment Camp Museum

Le NB Internment Camp Museum est seulement l’un des deux musées au Canada qui  traitent uniquement avec l’internement des prisonniers de guerre pendant la seconde guerre mondiale. Le musée possède plus de 600 artefacts et il est le résultat d’un programme d’adolescent à risques commencé par le professeur Ed Caissie en 1993/94
Phase I
Le camp abritait principalement 711 Juifs allemands et autrichiens. Un nom à retenir est Fritz (Friedrich) Bender, l’inventeur qui est allé à Ottawa pour poursuivre son travail de contreplaqué imperméable, ce qui a conduit au développement du bombardier  moustiques.
Phase II
Au cours de cette phase, le camp abritait près de 1200 prisonniers de guerre italiens et allemande principalement des marine marchande. Camillien Houde, maire de Montréal qui a soutenu l’Italie et était en désaccord avec certaines initiatives du gouvernement canadien a été emprisonné pendant trois ans et demi.
IMG_4302

Notes: Ouvert de juin à aout
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 12pm - 5pm/12h à 17h 12pm - 5pm/12h à 17h

420 Pleasant Drive, Unit 1 Minto, New Brunswick, E4B 2T3

(506) 327-3573
« Previous
Next »
Copyright 2013
A Ginger Design

New Brunswick Internment Camp Museum

New Brunswick Internment Camp Museum

The New Brunswick Internment Camp Museum is only one of two museums in Canada that deal solely with the internment of POWs during the second World War. The museum holds over 600 artifacts and is the result of an at risk program started by teacher Ed Caissie in 1993/94

Phase I(1940-1941)

camp held  mainly 711 German and Austrian Jews. One name to remember is Fritz(Frederich) Bender,  inventor who went to Ottawa to further his work to waterproof plywood, which led to the development of the mosquito bomber.

Phase II (1941-1945)

During this phase the camp housed nearly 1,200 POW’s mainly German and Italian Merchant Marines. Camillien Houde, Mayor of Montreal who supported Italy and disagreed with certain Canadian Government initiatives was imprisoned for three and a half years.

 

IMG_4302

Notes: Admission $1.50 Adults $4.00 family 12 and under free. School tours no charge
Open mid-June to the end of August
Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 10am - 5pm/10h à 17h 12pm - 5pm/12h à 17h 12pm - 5pm/12h à 17h

420 Pleasant Drive, Unit 1 Minto, New Brunswick, E4B 2T3

(506) 327-3573
« Previous
Next »
Copyright 2013
A Ginger Design