# **Association Heritage New Brunswick**

# 49<sup>th</sup> ANNUAL AGM MINUTES SUSSEX, NB

#### 9 November 2023

#### **Present**

Philippe Basque, Marion Beyea, Katherine Biggs-Craft, Kellie Blue, Lawren Campbell, Meggan Cappello, Bonnie Chapman, Janet Clouston, Jeanne Mance Cormier, Dani Comfort, MJ Edwards, Greg Fekner, Evelyn Fidler, Alice Fudge, Andrée Godin, Clair Godin, Gerry Gillcash, David Hughes, Alena Krasnikova, Keegan Hiltz, Gaetane Labelle, Bridget Murphy, Joan Pearce, Lee Sochasky, Sheri Smidt, Katrina Swift, Bruce Thomson, Melynda Jarratt, Sylvain Lanteigne, Jeremy Mouat, Anja Hamilton, Sophie Auffrey, Tammy Greene, Sherry Little and Kaitlin Blacquiere.

#### Call to Order

Gerry Gillcash called to order the Annual General Meeting of the AHNB membership at 12:35 pm on Thursday, 9 November 2023.

## 1. Approval of the Agenda

Lee Sochasky moved to approve the agenda and Lawren Campbell seconded. Motion carried.

#### 2. Approval of the 2022 AGM Minutes

Evelyn Fidler moved the adoption of the minutes of the 2022 AGM, and Lee Sochasky seconded. Motion carried.

## 3. Business arising from the minutes

Nothing arising.

#### 4. Treasurer's Report

Greg Fekner presented the Treasurer's report and said it was audited up to March 31, 2023, by the accounting firm MacMillan, Lawrence & Lawrence in Fredericton.

Labour Expenses incurred included two full time employees and one student for 12 weeks. It was recommended that we maintain the two full time employees to continue to expand our programs, such as those planned by the Museum Steering Committee to update resources and toolkits on AHNB's website. The committee will be reaching out to members via a survey as to what they need.

The motion to accept the Treasurer's report was moved by Greg Fekner and seconded by Jeanne Mance Cormier. Motion carried.

Greg moved to use the same auditors next year, **MacMillan, Lawrence & Lawrence**. Lawren Campbell seconded. Motion carried.

# 5. Annual Report

Gerry reviewed the annual report including advocacy, the Endangered Places List, the Directory of Expertise and Professionals for Built Heritage, grants, CollectiveAccess, and committee work. The Annual Report is available on AHNB's website. Gerry Gillcash moved the adoption of the report, and Sherry Little seconded. Motion carried.

#### 6. Nominations and Election of New Officers

Past President, Gaëtane Saucier-Nadeau presented the 2023 Nominations Report. Gaëtan will be retiring as well as Lee Sochasky, and Pierre Cormier. Philippe Basque, Ken Walker, Lauren Coté, and Aline Landry stepped down due to other commitments.

Gerry Gillcash made a motion during the October 19<sup>th</sup> Board Meeting that the slate as presented be put forward as the Board's formal recommendation at our 2023 AGM. Seconded by Lee Sochasky. Motion Carried.

# **Executive Committee**

President

Lawren Campbell

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President

Guy Tremblay

**2nd Vice President** 

Tammy Greene

Treasurer

Greg Fekner

Secretary

Evelyn Fidler

Past President

Gerry Gillcash

#### **Board of Directors**

Alice Fudge

Charles Ramsev

Samuel Albert

Jeremy Mouat

Dominique Gélinas

Joan Pearce

Janet Clouston

Natalie Bull

Jennifer Dow

**Ex-Officio** - Anja Hamilton

Gaëtane as the nomination's chair asked all AHNB Members in favour of the slate as presented by the Board. As no one opposed, she declared the 2023/2024 slate of AHNB Officers as presented "elected". Motion Carried.

#### 7. Other Business

Gerry thanked Gaëtan for her years of service on the Board.

Gerry mentioned the Central River Valley Heritage Zone has offered to host AHNB's 50th conference in Fredericton.

After some discussion, Gerry moved that the Central River Valley Heritage Zone host next year's Conference in November 2024 at the Fredericton Inn. Seconded by Evelyn. Motion carried.

No other business

## 8. Adjournment

Lawren moved we adjourn at 12:58 PM.

Prepared by Evelyn Fidler, Secretary