Récipiendaires des prix 2021

Guy Tremblay debout avec son Prix des fondateurs de l'APNB 2021.Guy Tremblay- Le prix du Fondateur 

Le travail de Guy Tremblay au Nouveau-Brunswick commence en 2002. Il est gestionnaire des services muséaux au ministère du Tourisme, du Patrimoine et de la Culture avec des maîtrises en histoire et en gestion organisationnelle d’universités au Québec. Il a une vaste expérience comme consultant et a travaillé sur une variété d’initiatives économiques et de développement social, de même qu’en gestion au niveau culturel, en entrepreneuriat, en tourisme et au sein des musées. Quelques exemples de ses projets spécifiques : le design d’outils spécialisés pour le micro-entrepreneuriat et la création de plans d’affaires comprenant les activités de marketing, les ressources humaines et les finances pour des entreprises. Il possède également 10 ans d’expérience comme directeur général et conservateur du Musée régional de la Côte-Nord et le Vieux-Poste de Sept-Îles.

Il a géré des programmes, a prodigué des conseils et a partagé son expertise en développement organisationnel dans la communauté muséale de la province. Dans son travail, il a été guidé par l’appui et les connaissances (de son expérience et en écoutant aux employés et bénévoles des musées du Nouveau-Brunswick) de ce qui était réellement nécessaire pour que les musées puissent avoir du succès et puissent fonctionner. Après le renouvellement de la politique culturelle du Nouveau-Brunswick en 2002, Guy reçoit la tâche du développement et de la mise en œuvre du modèle de réseautage des musées, qui consiste à établir un réseau de zones dans la province afin de regrouper des organisations qui font la préservation et la promotion du patrimoine du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il était aussi responsable de la conception d’une stratégie de marketing connexe.

Guy a pris le temps d’inclure les bénévoles qui étaient nouveaux dans leurs rôles muséaux pour s’assurer qu’ils soient confortables avec les techniques de bases, ce qui résonne encore à ce jour chez ces bénévoles. Il répondait toujours aux questions avec une patience exemplaire, que ce soit concernant les demandes de subventions, la conception d’expositions, les collectes de fonds, le jumelage des besoins des musées avec les subventions disponibles, la mise aux normes d’installations ou encore les difficultés rencontrées par les bénévoles. Il était un mentor hors pair. Il a toujours traité les bénévoles comme des professionnels du musée et s’est assuré que leurs rôles soient appréciés et reconnus. Son aide dans la continuité du programme d’étudiants d’été a été très importante pour les musées. Il a participé aux plans initiaux de projets et a puisé dans ses connaissances lorsqu’il a été sollicité pour trouver du financement qui pourrait être disponible.

Les contributions de Guy vont bien plus loin que ses responsabilités professionnelles. Il était un ardent défenseur des petits musées; il comprenait les difficultés qu’ils affrontaient et aidait de toutes les manières qu’il pouvait afin qu’ils réalisent leurs buts. Il trouvait une joie dans les succès des musées. Il était prédisposé à aider ceux qui géraient et qui travaillaient dans les musées en expliquant et en interprétant les politiques et les directives pour que les employés puissent avancer de manière positive et productive. Les professionnels et les bénévoles des musées sentaient que Guy était de tout cœur avec eux, et lorsqu’ils avaient du succès, Guy était content. Guy visitait souvent les musées lorsqu’il était en vacances et s’est fait des amis dans le milieu du patrimoine.

Le Prix de Fondation reconnaît les contributions remarquables aux gens du Nouveau-Brunswick et reconnaît un exemple ou une série de contributions d’un individu à leur communauté ou au niveau de la province. Le prix est initié et décidé par l’exécutif de l’APNB. Ce dernier décerne de façon unanime le prix à Guy Tremblay et nous sommes convaincus que les membres, qui ont pu bénéficier des conseils et de l’aide de Guy pendant ces 20 dernières années, sont du même avis.

Fern Bell standing with John Thomson, accepting the 2021 AHNB Quarter Century Award.Fern Bell- Prix quart de siècle

Le prix quart de siècle de l’Association du patrimoine du Nouveau-Brunswick est remis à Fern Bell pour son service dévoué comme comptable bénévole et conseillère financière à la Carleton County Historical Society pour plus de 40 ans.

La Carleton Country Historical Society (CCHS) est une organisation exemplaire et l’apport de Fern a été important dans leurs nombreux succès. La CCHS gère deux sites historiques qui ont été restaurés de manière factuelle : la Old Carleton County Court House, un site historique provincial, et la Hon. Charles Connell House, un site historique national. Fern a beaucoup aidé à la collecte de fonds pour ces deux sites. Ils offrent des programmes spécialisés et des expositions exceptionnelles, qui ont pu bénéficier des conseils financiers de Fern. Maintenant âgée de plus de 90 ans, Fern est une membre valorisée, toujours prête à aider sa communauté du CCHS. Dans son bénévolat, sa voix a toujours été tranquille et calme.

Fern Bell a aussi marqué l’histoire dans sa carrière de comptable. Après avoir fréquenté l’école normale de Fredericton et l’école de commerce de Saint John, elle a déménagé à Woodstock à 19 ans pour travailler à Stiles Motors. Tout en élevant sa famille, elle est retournée à l’école et devient comptable générale accréditée, l’une des deux seules femmes du Nouveau-Brunswick qui portait ce titre à l’époque. Elle a débuté sa carrière en 1967 et a pratiqué pendant 44 ans. Elle a pris sa retraite de sa carrière professionnelle à 80 ans.

Fern a été bénévole au sein de plusieurs organisations comme King’s Daughters, l’école Peter Pan de Woodstock, l’Association canadienne des personnes avec un handicap mental et comme trésorière de son église baptiste. Fern a été célébrée de plusieurs façons au cours de sa vie et l’APNB a l’immense bonheur de lui présenter une preuve de reconnaissance de la part de la communauté patrimoniale.

Sur la photo, de gauche à droite : Fern Bell et John Thompson (Président, CCHS).

 

John Williamson se tient devant une grande porte dans un beau costume.John Leighton Williamson – Prix quart de siècle

Le prix du quart de siècle est remis à John Leighton Williamson à titre posthume.

John Williamson a joué un rôle majeur dans la mise en place des institutions qui appuient aujourd’hui la compréhension, la préservation et la promotion de l’histoire et du patrimoine du Nouveau‑Brunswick. Comme sous-ministre des Finances et secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor, il a joué un rôle essentiel dans l’établissement de la première agence du gouvernement provincial consacrée au patrimoine, soit l’Administration des ressources historiques. Il a aussi été le premier à faire adopter une loi qui protège le patrimoine culturel et à mettre en place des Archives provinciales. Une partie de ses responsabilités était la supervision de l’élaboration du budget qui apportait un soutien continu à Kings Landing, au Village historique acadien et au Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick.

John était un membre de l’exécutif et secrétaire de la Kings Landing Corporation de 1973 à 1982. Il était membre et membre de l’exécutif de plusieurs organisations patrimoniales, dont le Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick, la United Empire Loyalist Society of Canada, la Fredericton Society of St. Andrew et la York Sunbury Historical Society.

Il était un érudit de l’héraldique et avait reçu comme tâche du premier ministre Hatfield de donner un cimier, des supports et un socle aux armoiries de la province pour en faire ce qu’elles sont aujourd’hui. Ce travail s’est terminé en 1984 et a été présenté à la Province dans une cérémonie publique à Fredericton afin de souligner le bicentenaire de la province en 1984.

À sa retraite, il s’impliqua dans la conservation du patrimoine du comté de Charlotte, dans l’histoire locale et dans la recherche militaire. Il siégea à l’exécutif des Charlotte County Archives et a été un directeur de longue date avec le St. Andrews Civic Trust. Il était membre de l’Église anglicane Vestry of All Saints à St. Andrews où il donnait des visites des lieux et encourageait sa conservation. Il dévouait du temps à faire ajouter les noms oubliés ou manquants des morts de la guerre aux archives publiques et dans les souvenirs des gens. Il était aussi contributeur au Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.

Au cours de sa vie, John Williamson a fait d’importantes contributions au patrimoine et mérite pleinement le prix du quart de siècle de l’APNB.

 

De gauche à droite : Carla Saul, Andrew McLeod, Martine Leblanc et Jamie Wolverton avec leur prix de distinction de l'AHNB 2021.

Temple de la renommée sportive du Nouveau-Brunswick – Prix de distinction :

On présente le prix de distinction au Temple de la renommée sportive du Nouveau-Brunswick en reconnaissance de son initiative de collecte de fonds nommée Building Inspiration and Capital Campaign and Theatre Project, qui fut un énorme succès.

Cette campagne de financement du Temple de la renommée sportive du Nouveau‑Brunswick a été une des stratégies de collecte de fonds la plus exhaustive de ses 50 ans d’existence. Non seulement elle a atteint son objectif de collecte de fonds, elle a fracassé toute les attentes – le Temple de la renommée sportive du Nouveau‑Brunswick a pu transformer son 2e étage en une salle d’exposition moderne et un théâtre de 50 sièges et espace où faire des présentations. Cet espace multifonctionnel a, de façon impressionnante, amélioré leur capacité d’organiser, de livrer, et d’offrir de nouveaux programmes et de nouveaux événements. Non seulement le théâtre et l’espace de présentation de haute technologie desserviront le Temple de la renommée sportive du Nouveau‑Brunswick et ses partenaires communautaires dans un avenir prévisible, mais il attirera aussi de nouveaux publics plus variés au musée au cœur du centre-ville de Fredericton.

La collecte de fonds n’est jamais facile et les événements des dernières années n’ont certainement pas aidé, ce qui fait de la réussite du projet Building Inspiration and Capital Campaign and Theatre Project encore plus impressionnante.

Les récipiendaires visibles sur la photo, de gauche à droite : Carla Saul, Andrew McLeod, Martine Leblanc (présidente) et Jamie Wolverton.

Les membres du St. Andrews Civic Trust acceptant leur prix de distinction de l'APNB 2021.St. Andrews Civic Trust – Prix de distinction :

On décerne le prix de distinction à St. Andrews Civic Trust pour son travail attentif et bien réussi pendant près de 50 ans afin de protéger, de conserver et de promouvoir le patrimoine impressionnant du village de St. Andrews.

Établi en 1973 comme organisme à but non lucratif, St. Andrews Civic Trust a entrepris plusieurs projets, dont le développement et la mise à jour d’un site Web informatif et facile à naviguer; la mise en œuvre du programme de plaques historiques qui identifient et commémorent les maisons d’importance historique; la conception d’un guide pédestre des lieux historiques de St. Andrews; l’animation d’ateliers et de séminaires sur la sauvegarde patrimoniale de la région; la compilation d’une liste des différents guides de ressources (un outil important pour les propriétaires des bâtiments historiques) et la mise en ligne du bulletin Tidings. St. Andrews Civic Trust continue de travailler en concert avec les conseils municipaux et avec les législateurs provinciaux afin d’assurer la conservation, la protection et la promotion des biens patrimoniaux de la communauté.

St. Andrews Civic Trust a fait preuve d’initiative et a participé à la réalisation de la restauration de plusieurs propriétés patrimoniales avec l’aide des partenaires et des sympathisants. Le tout a débuté lorsque St. Andrews Civic Trust a invité La fondation Héritage Canada (maintenant Fiducie nationale du Canada) à St. Andrews pour encourager la conservation patrimoniale. Cette collaboration a mené à la restauration de deux maisons (1974-1979). Les propriétés restaurées directement par St. Andrews Civic Trust sont : la maison Hansen, la maison Macklem (restauration de la véranda avec toiture), la maison de thé Niger Reef Tea House et le phare Pendlebury Lighthouse (la tour et le terrain près de la digue ont été faits par le Village). De nombreuses autres propriétés et quatre cimetières ont aussi été restaurés avec les conseils et l’assistance de St. Andrews Civic Trust.

Le grand éventail d’initiatives entamées par St. Andrews Civic Trust a permis de conserver un patrimoine d’importance à la communauté, à la province et à la nation. Les efforts et les accomplissements de St. Andrews Civic Trust servent de modèle aux autres groupes patrimoniaux du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Les récipiendaires visibles sur la photo, de gauche à droite : Barry Murray, Peggy Hogarth et Dale Dauphinee, membres du conseil d’administration.

Fredericton Region Museum recipients of the 2021 AHNB Award of Distinction. Front row (left to right): Melynda Jarratt, Doug Hall, Dr Mary Louise McCarthy-Brandt; rear (left to right): Mitra Bakhtiar (Synthetic Imageworks), Jennifer Dow, Alan Edwards (Synthetic Imageworks), Dr. Cynthia Wallace-Casey, Graham Nickerson; absent: Doug Daley (Kiers Marketing Group). Image credit, Fredericton Region Museum.Musée de la region de Fredericton – Prix de distinction:

Le prix de distinction est présenté au Musée de la région de Fredericton en reconnaissance de son exposition impressionnante sur l’histoire des Noirs : les premiers Noirs à s’établir dans les comtés de York-Sunbury, de 1783 au présent (« Our Black History : Early Black Settlers of York-Sunbury Counties, 1783-Present »).

Cette exposition est remarquable dans sa présentation de nouvelle information judicieuse de l’histoire des Noirs dans les comtés de York-Sunbury et dans son utilisation de la réalité virtuelle, de l’audio-vidéo et de la technologie des écrans tactiles pour raconter l’histoire des loyalistes noirs et de leurs descendants qui ont tant contribué à la région. Le contexte architectural est visuellement attrayant. L’exposition est située dans une réplique de l’église anglicane de St. Peters, un site historique provincial.

L’équipe de bénévoles et de stagiaires a mené une recherche exhaustive pour préparer une exposition qui a rassemblé les membres de la communauté, a surmonté des contraintes et a affiché du contenu essentiel et valorisant de façon inspirante et respectueuse. L’exposition met en valeur l’importance de l’inclusion et de raconter les histoires des diverses cultures qui ont apporté des contributions remarquables, mais souvent moins connues, à la province et au pays.

Les récipiendaires visibles sur la photo sont les suivants : au premier rang (de gauche à droite) : Melynda Jarratt, Doug Hall, Dr Mary Louise McCarthy-Brandt ; arrière (de gauche à droite) : Mitra Bakhtiar (Synthetic Imageworks), Jennifer Dow, Alan Edwards (Synthetic Imageworks), Dr. Cynthia Wallace-Casey, Graham Nickerson ; absent : Doug Daley (Kiers Marketing Group).

Lawren Campbell avec son Prix du mérite de l'APNB 2021.Lawren Campbell – Prix de mérite

Le prix de mérite est présenté à Lawren Campbell, coordonnateur du patrimoine et de la culture à la Place Resurgo à Moncton. Avec ses compétences variées et sa flexibilité, il est un pilier au musée.

Ce prix est en partie attribué pour son travail innovateur dans la conception de Pauses-cafés Corona, une présentation en format Facebook Live chaque jour sur les édifices patrimoniaux et les repères de Moncton. Un total de 30 vidéos informatives ont été enregistrées et la personnalité envoutante de Lawren a donné une saveur intéressante et amusante aux vidéos. La recherche et l’attention au détail des vidéos ont eu une incidence importante dans la promotion du patrimoine local de Moncton dans toute la province. Les membres de la communauté de Moncton et d’ailleurs ont témoigné combien ils ont apprécié les vidéos et combien ils ont appris des vidéos. Elles ont rappelé bien des choses aux gens, qui ont pu se souvenir de l’histoire de Moncton. Plusieurs personnes ont posé des questions de suivi par rapport aux vidéos et le personnel de la Place Resurgo a effectué des recherches et répondu à ces questions. On a fait référence aux clips vidéos comme exemple de bonne pratique à la réunion annuelle de Fiducie nationale du Canada et les vidéos sont affichées sur le site Web de l’APNB. Lawren a aussi partagé son talent et ses compétences au profit de l’APNB avec la création de vidéos pour notre journée annuelle Aime tes ponts couverts.

Ces vidéos vont perdurer et serviront de pierre angulaire pour les projets en ligne à l’avenir à la Place Resurgo. Le musée a voulu continuer avec l’idée de Lawren et a créé la série de Boîte à souvenirs virtuelle, dans laquelle Lawren et les membres de l’équipe à Resurgo ont une conversation bilingue à propos de différentes pièces du musée.

 

Ken Walker tenant son prix du mérite de l'APNB 2021.Ken Walker – Prix de mérite

Le prix de mérite est présenté à Ken Walker pour son service comme vice-président et bénévole avec les Amis de l’île Beaubears.

Il a été un mentor et un ami à ses collègues du conseil d’administration et à de nombreux employés des Amis de l’île Beaubears en leur partageant sa passion et son expérience. Il a participé activement à de nombreuses visites et à de nombreux événements, a aidé à former de nouveaux employés et a également travaillé avec l’équipe de la collection à l’identification d’objets et à faire de la recherche. Il a fait la promotion de la protection de l’archéologie de l’île, ainsi que du besoin de faire plus de recherche dans divers sites, dont deux sites où il avait trouvé en 2018 des fondations qu’on avait manquées auparavant. En 2019, Ken a joué un rôle marquant dans l’organisation et le déroulement du 350e anniversaire de l’établissement de la Forteresse Sainte-Croix au nord-est de Miramichi en 1669. Il a publié deux livres sur l’expérience acadienne à Miramichi, a effectué des recherches sur bon nombre de sujets allant de l’arrivée des premiers Français aux premières routes du Nouveau-Brunswick au 19e siècle. Ken a également donné plusieurs présentations pour l’île Beaubears lors de la série annuelle des conférenciers de février depuis 2017, pour la société historique de Miramichi (Miramichi Historical Society) et pour la conférence de l’association internationale des petites îles (International Small Islands Association). Ken a créé un programme éducatif de sensibilisation qu’il avait présenté dans plusieurs écoles avant la pandémie.

Maintenant, Ken fait de la sensibilisation autrement grâce aux médias numériques. Par exemple, il présente une série bimensuelle sur YouTube qu’il nomme The Living Island. Elle nous permet d’avoir un aperçu de la beauté naturelle de l’île Beaubears. Il fait aussi la narration de la série In Their Own Words, une série de vidéos théâtrales fondée sur des témoignages, des lettres et des discours historiques. Tout récemment, il a commencé à coanimer la série Shipbuilding Uncovered, où il guide le public à travers de l’histoire des six sites archéologiques de l’île.

Ken siège sur le conseil du Musée d’histoire de Miramichi et de la Scottish Heritage Association (Miramichi) Inc. (association patrimoniale écossaise de Miramichi), où il joue un grand rôle de bénévolat lors d’événements comme le pique-nique à l’ancienne pendant le Scottish Fest et les visites hantées au cimetière du Lieu historique provincial de la Pointe Wilson’s.

Pour ses sages conseils et sa participation enthousiaste dans les nombreux projets de l’île Beaubears et autres groupes patrimoniaux, nous remettons le prix de mérite de l’APNB à Ken Walker.

Liste des anciens destinataires

Copyright 2013
A Ginger Design

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/taxonomy-picker/silverghyll-library/silverghyll-foundation.php on line 375

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /var/www/wp-content/plugins/taxonomy-picker/silverghyll-library/silverghyll-foundation.php:375) in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/qtranslate-x/qtranslate_core.php on line 391

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/qtranslate-x/qtranslate_frontend.php on line 500

Warning: session_start(): Cannot start session when headers already sent in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/custom-searchable-data-entry-system/sds-session.php on line 8

Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_postsFilter() expected to be a reference, value given in /var/www/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 303

Warning: Parameter 2 to qtranxf_postsFilter() expected to be a reference, value given in /var/www/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 303
Present Awards - AHNB-APNB - Prix Current

2021 Award Recipients

Guy Tremblay standing with his 2021 AHNB Founders Award.Guy Tremblay — Founders Award:

Guy Tremblay came to work in New Brunswick in 2002 as Manager of museum services in the Department of Tourism, Heritage and Culture with university degrees at the Masters level in history and in organizational management from Quebec universities.  He had extensive experience in consulting and working with a variety of economic and social development initiatives and cultural, entrepreneurial and tourism and museum organizations in many diverse aspects of management. For instance, these specific projects included designing specialized tools for use in micro-entrepreneurship, creating business plans encompassing marketing operations, human resources and finance for entrepreneurs, as well as 10 years experience as executive director and curator of the Musée régional de la Côte-Nord and the Old Trading Post in Sept-Îles.

He managed programs, provided advice, and shared his expertise in organizational development in the museum’s community throughout the province.  In this work he was always guided by his support for and knowledge (from his experience and from listening to staff and volunteers in New Brunswick museums) of what was really needed to help museums operate and succeed.  After the launch of the renewed Cultural Policy for New Brunswick in 2002 Guy was charged with the development and implementation of the museum network model which involved establishing a province wide network of zones aimed at grouping organizations involved in the preservation and promotion of New Brunswick’s heritage and developing a related marketing strategy.

Guy took the time to included volunteers new to their role in museums to ensure they understood fundamental best practices in museums, is appreciatively remembered.  He was always abundantly patient with the endless questions, whether to do with writing grant proposals, developing exhibits, raising funds, finding ways to match grant programs with needs, bringing museum facilities up to standard, or dealing with difficulties encountered by volunteers.  He was an invaluable mentor.  He always treated volunteers like professional museum employees and made sure that their role as volunteers was appreciated and valued.   His help in ensuring the continuance of the summer student program was of major importance to the museum community.  He sat in on the initial planning stages of projects and drew on his knowledge in advising on various sources of funding that might be available.

Guy’s contributions to museums went far beyond the responsibilities of his position.  He was in the corner of small museums; he understood the difficulties facing them and he helped in any way he could for them to reach their goals. He found joy in the successes of New Brunswick museums. His predisposition was always to help those who managed and worked in museums by explaining and interpreting policies and program guidelines, so they could be steered in a positive and productive way. Museum professionals and volunteers felt Guy was in their corner and when they were successful, he was elated.  Guy often dropped in on museums during his vacations and made life-long friendships in the heritage field.

The Founders Award recognizes the outstanding contributions to the people of New Brunswick recognizing a singular or series of outstanding contributions of an individual to their community or to the province at large.  The award is initiated and decided on by the AHNB Executive which was unanimous in the decision to present this award to Guy Tremblay, and I am sure the membership who have benefited from Guy’s advice and assistance over the last almost 20 years are unanimous in their support of Guy’s being named recipient as well.

 

Fern Bell standing with John Thomson, accepting the 2021 AHNB Quarter Century Award. Fern Bell – Quarter Century Award:

The Quarter Century Award of the Association Heritage New Brunswick is presented to Fern Bell for her dedicated service of more than 40 years, as volunteer accountant and financial advisor to the Carleton County Historical Society.

The Carleton County Historical Society is an exemplary organization and Fern’s contributions as their Treasurer have been critical in its many successes.  CCHS operates two accurately restored historic sites: the Old Carleton County Court House, a Provincial Historic Site, and the Hon. Charles Connell House, a National Historic site, for which Fern helped fundraise. Both sites offer a variety of special programs and exceptional exhibits, that prudent financial management has made possible.  Although now over 90 years of age, Fern remains a valued member who is able and willing to continue to contribute to the CCHS community she has become so much a part of.  In all of her volunteer activities her voice has been a quiet, level-headed one.

Fern Bell, herself, made history in her career in accounting.  After attending Teacher’s College in Fredericton, and Business College in Saint John, she moved to Woodstock at age 19 to work for Stiles Motors.  While raising her family she retuned to studies to become a Chartered General Accountant, one of only 2 women in N.B. to gain that designation at that time. She remained in practice for 44 years, becoming a Chartered Accountant in 1967.   She retired from her professional career at age 80.

Fern has served as a valued volunteer for many organizations for many years including the King’s Daughters, Woodstock’s Peter Pan School, the Canadian Association for the Mentally Handicapped, and Treasurer of her Baptist Church.  Fern has been honoured with several prestigious awards over the years, and the AHNB is pleased to present, a debt of gratitude from the heritage community to her.

Seen in the photo from left to right: Fern Bell and John Thompson (President, CCHS).

 

John Williamson standing in front of a large doorway in a handsome suit.John Leighton Williamson – Quarter Century Award:    

The Quarter Century Award is presented posthumously to John Leighton Williamson.

John Williamson played a major role in setting up the institutions that today support the understanding, preservation, and promotion of New Brunswick’s history and heritage.  As Deputy Minister of Finance and Secretary to Treasury Board, he was instrumental in establishing the first agency in the government of New Brunswick devoted to heritage, the Historical Resources Administration, and in having the first heritage preservation legislation enacted, and the Provincial Archives established.  Part of his responsibilities was overseeing budget development that provided ongoing support for Kings Landing, le Village Historique Acadian, and the New Brunswick Museum.

John was board member and secretary of the Kings Landing Corporation from 1973 to 1982.  He was a member and board member of many heritage organisations including the New Brunswick Museum, the United Empire Loyalist Society of Canada, the Fredericton Society of St. Andrew, and the York Sunbury Historical Society.

He was also a heraldry scholar and was tasked by Premier Hatfield with augmenting New Brunswick’s provincial shield with a crest, supporters and compartment to produce today’s distinctive coat of arms.  The work was completed in 1984 and presented to the province in a public ceremony in Fredericton to mark the province’s bicentennial anniversary of its establishment in 1984.

In his retirement he became involved in Charlotte’s County’s heritage preservation, local history and military research.  He served on the Charlotte County Archives Board and was a long serving Director of the St. Andrews Civic Trust.  He was a member of the Vestry of All Saints Anglican Church in St. Andrews and gave tours to visitors and encouraged the preservation of its historic fabric.  He devoted time to ensuring overlooked or missing names of Canada’s war dead were added to public records and properly remembered.  He was also a contributor to the Dictionary of Canadian Biography.

Throughout his life John Williamson made many important contributions to heritage and is well-deserving of AHNB’s Quarter Century Award.

 

From left to right: Carla Saul, Andrew McLeod, Martine Leblanc, and Jamie Wolverton stand with their 2021 AHNB Award of Distinction

New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame – Award of Distinction:

The New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame is presented with the Award of Distinction in recognition of its incredibly successful fundraising initiative, Building Inspiration and Capital Campaign and Theatre Project.

This campaign was the most comprehensive fundraising initiative the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame has engaged in during its 50 years of operation.  It not only achieved its fundraising goal but exceeded it permitting the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame to completely transform its second floor into a modern exhibit space, and a 50 seat theatre and presentation space.  This multi-purpose venue has dramatically enhanced their ability to organize, deliver and offer new programming and events.  Not only will the state-of-art Theatre and Presentation Space serve the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame and its community partners for the foreseeable future, but it will attract many new and diverse audiences to the museum in the heart of Downtown Fredericton.

Fundraising is never easy and the events of recent years have made it even more difficult making the success of the Building Inspiration and Capital Campaign and Theatre Project even more impressive.

Recipients seen in the photo from left to right are as follows: Carla Saul, Andrew McLeod, Martine Leblanc (Chair) and Jamie Wolverton.

Members of the St. Andrews Civic Trust accepting their 2021 AHNB Award of Distinction.St. Andrews Civic Trust – Award of Distinction:

St. Andrews Civic Trust is awarded the Award of Distinction for its diligent and successful work over nearly 50 years to protect, preserve and promote the outstanding heritage of the town of St. Andrews.

Established in 1973 as a non-profit organization, the Trust has undertaken many projects including developing and maintaining an informative and easy-to-navigate website, initiating a Historic Plaque Program to identify and commemorate historically significant homes throughout the town, providing an online “Guide to Historic St. Andrews” walking tour map of historic homes and sites, giving workshops and seminars on local heritage preservation work, compiling a list of various Resource Guides (a useful tool for owners of heritage buildings), allowing on-line access to past issues of the official newsletter “Tidings” and working closely with municipal councils and provincial legislators to protect, preserve and promote the community’s heritage assets.

Of great importance as well is St Andrews Civic Trust’s initiating, assisting in and carrying out the restoration of a number of heritage properties with partners and supporters. This began when the Trust invited The Heritage Canada Foundation (now the National Trust for Canada) to St Andrews to encourage heritage preservation.  As part of that collaboration Heritage Canada restored two houses (1974-79).  Properties restored directly by the Civic Trust include : Hansen House, Macklem House (restored veranda with roof), Niger Reef Tea House, and Pendlebury Lighthouse (tower and grounds with seawall by the Town).  Numerous other properties and four cemeteries have also been restored with the advice and assistance of the Civic Trust.

The range of initiatives carried out by St. Andrews Civic Trust has preserved a heritage of value to the community, our province, and our nation.  The efforts and achievements of the Trust serve as a model to other heritage groups throughout New Brunswick.

Recipients seen in the photo from left to right are as follows: Board members Barry Murray, Peggy Hogarth, and Dale Dauphinee.

Fredericton Region Museum recipients of the 2021 AHNB Award of Distinction. Front row (left to right): Melynda Jarratt, Doug Hall, Dr Mary Louise McCarthy-Brandt; rear (left to right): Mitra Bakhtiar (Synthetic Imageworks), Jennifer Dow, Alan Edwards (Synthetic Imageworks), Dr. Cynthia Wallace-Casey, Graham Nickerson; absent: Doug Daley (Kiers Marketing Group). Image credit, Fredericton Region Museum.Fredericton Region Museum – Award of Distinction:

The Award of Distinction is presented to the Fredericton Region Museum in recognition of their impressive exhibition “Our Black History:  Early Black Settlers of York-Sunbury Counties, 1783-Present.”

This exhibition is noteworthy in its presentation of new, insightful information on the Black History of the York-Sunbury counties and its use of virtual reality, video-voice, and touchscreen technology to tell the stories of Black Loyalists and their descendants who have contributed so greatly to the history of the region.   It is set in a visually appealing architectural replication of St. Peters Anglican Church, a provincial historic site.

Based on the extensive research of a diverse team of volunteers and student interns, the exhibit brought together community members, overcame constraints, and sensitively displayed essential and empowering content in an inspirational manner. The exhibition is significant in that it showcases the importance of inclusion and the value of telling the stories of diverse cultures that have made outstanding and often little-known contributions to the province and to the country.

Recipients seen in the photo are as follows: front row (left to right): Melynda Jarratt, Doug Hall, Dr Mary Louise McCarthy-Brandt; rear (left to right): Mitra Bakhtiar (Synthetic Imageworks), Jennifer Dow, Alan Edwards (Synthetic Imageworks), Dr. Cynthia Wallace-Casey, Graham Nickerson; absent: Doug Daley (Kiers Marketing Group).

Lawren Campbell standing with his 2021 AHNB Award of Merit.Lawren Campbell – Award of Merit

The Award of Merit is presented to Lawren Campbell, Heritage and Culture Coordinator at Resuro Place in Moncton, where his diverse skills and flexibility are important mainstays at the museum.

The Award in part is for his innovative work in developing and presenting a Facebook Live presentation each day on historic buildings and landmarks in Moncton, called Corona Coffee Break.  A total of thirty informative videos were recorded, and Lauren’s lively personality made each video interesting and fun to watch.  Because of his research and attention to detail, his videos were instrumental in promoting local heritage around the province.  Members of the public in Moncton and beyond expressed how much they enjoyed and learned from the videos, because they triggered a memory for them and provided an opportunity to look back on Moncton’s history.  To his credit, many viewers asked follow-up questions which Resurgo Place staff researched and answered.  The clips were pointed out as an example of good practice at the National Trust of Canada’s annual conference and are posted on the AHNB’s web site.  Lawren has also put to work his talents and skills for AHNB, by creating videos for our annual Love Your Covered Bridges Days.

The videos will endure and are serving as a building block for future online projects for the Resurgo Place.  The museum itself was spurred on to continue with Lawren’s idea and began creating a series of Virtual Memory Box videos in which Lawren and Resurgo staff members have a bilingual dialogue about various pieces in the museums’ collections.

Ken Walker holding his 2021 AHNB Award of Merit.Ken Walker – Award of Merit

The Award of Merit is presented to Ken Walker for his service as vice president and volunteer with the Friends of Beaubears Island.

He has been a mentor and a friend to his fellow board members and many employees of the Friends of Beaubears Island, sharing his passion and experience with them. He has actively participated in several tours and events, assisted with employee orientation, worked with the collections team to identify objects and conduct research.  He has promoted the protection of the Island’s archaeology and the need for greater research on several sites, including two previously missed foundations he found on the Island in 2018.  He played a key role in the planning and execution of the 2019 commemoration of the 350th anniversary of the establishment of Fortress Sainte Croix on the Northeast branch of the Miramichi in 1669.  He has published two books on the Acadian experience on the Miramichi, and he conducted research on a number of topics ranging from early French settlement to 19th century coach routes through New Brunswick.  He has made presentations as part of Beaubears Island’s annual February Speaker Series since 2017, as well as to the Miramichi Historical Society, and to the International Small Islands Association Conference.  Ken has also created an Educational Outreach Program and has presented at several schools prior to the pandemic.

Ken’s outreach has taken on a new form using digital media.  For instance, he has a biweekly YouTube series called The Living Island which provides a glimpse into the natural splendour of Beaubears Island; he narrates the series In Their Own Words, a theatrical video series based around historical testimonials, letters, and speeches, and most recently he began co-hosting the Shipbuilding Uncovered series, where he guides his audience through the stories of six archaeological sites on the Island.

He is on the board of the Miramichi History Museum and the Scottish Heritage Association (Miramichi) Inc., where he plays an active role in volunteering at such events as the Old-fashioned Family Picnic during Scottish Fest, and the Haunted Graveyard Walks at Wilson’s Point Provincial Historic Site.

For his wise advice and energetic help in the projects of Beaubears Island and other heritage groups, Ken is presented the AHNB’s Award of Merit.

Past Recipients List

Copyright 2013
A Ginger Design